United States: Recent N.Y. Ethics Opinions: June/July 2016

Last Updated: July 13 2016
Article by Tyler Maulsby

Here are summaries of ethics opinions issued in December 2015 and January 2016. The opinions were issued by the NYSBA Committee on Professional Ethics. NYLER will continue to provide updates on new ethics opinions issued by these and other ethics committees in New York State.

For information about how to obtain an ethics opinion from the NYS Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics, please visit http://www.nysba.org/Ethics/.


NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION OPINIONS

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1080 (Dec. 2015)

Governmental Parties and the 'No-Contact' Rule

In Opinion 1080, the inquiring lawyer represented a client against a municipal agency in a dispute over a real property assessment. The lawyer mainly communicated with the attorney for the municipality and both lawyers had entered appearances in the case. During the course of the litigation, the public official in charge of the municipal agency that was a party to the action contacted the lawyer and requested that the lawyer communicate directly with him. The Opinion addresses whether the lawyer may communicate with the public official under Rule 4.2 of the New York Rules of Professional Conduct (New York Rules), which prohibits a lawyer from communicating with a party who is represented by counsel without first obtaining consent from that party's lawyer or unless the lawyer is "authorized by law" to do so. The Opinion concludes that the lawyer would be prohibited from communicating with the public official under Rule 4.2 because it was clear that the municipality was represented by counsel. Citing prior ethics opinions, the Opinion reasons: "once there is an indication that counsel has been designated by a party, whether governmental unit or otherwise, with regard to a particular matter, all communications concerning the matter must thereafter be made with the designated counsel except as provided by law." Thus, the lawyer must first obtain consent from the municipality's lawyer before communicating directly with the public official. The Opinion also concludes that the type of communication at issue does not meet the "authorized by law" exception in Rule 4.2. If the lawyer were simply attempting to "petition the government" within his First Amendment rights, Rule 4.2 would not apply, however, because the lawyer is litigating against the agency, he must first seek permission from the municipal agency's attorney before speaking with the public official.

The full Opinion is available at: http://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=60761.

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1081 (Jan. 2016)

Legal and Non-Legal Services and the Unauthorized Practice of Law

In Opinion 1081, two lawyers were employed by a debt management company (the "Company") that was run by a non-lawyer. The Company wished to offer services whereby the lawyers would provide certain advice and counseling to the Company's clients. The Company also proposed an incentive structure where the salaries of the lawyers would be augmented by $100 for each account that was settled for more than $10,000. Finally, the lawyers were concerned that they would be unable to properly counsel all of the Company's clients due to the number of cases the Company handled. The threshold question, the Opinion concludes, is whether the services the lawyers would be providing are "legal services, non-legal services, or a combination of the two." If any of the proposed services are "legal services," then the lawyers would be bound by the New York Rules. If the services are non-legal in nature, then some of the New York Rules may apply but others may not. If the services are a combination of legal and non-legal services relating to the same matter then under Rule 5.7(a)(1) the New York Rules would apply to both the legal and non-legal services. Because the definition of "legal services" is a question of law, the Opinion does not opine on whether the services at issue are in fact "legal services," but notes that "it seems likely that some of the activities of the [Company]...probably are legal services." If the services at issue are legal services then the lawyers may be violating New York Rule 5.5, which prohibits lawyers from aiding a non-lawyer in the unauthorized practice of law, as well as New York Rule 5.4, which prohibits lawyers from sharing legal fees with non-lawyers. With regard to the proposed bonus compensation, the Opinion concludes that such an arrangement would create a potential personal interest conflict under Rule 1.7(a)(2) because it could encourage the lawyer to settle a matter on terms less favorable to the client. Finally, the Opinion concludes that, assuming the New York Rules applied to the scenario, the lawyers would also have a duty of competent representation to the clients under Rule 1.1, and thus, would not be able to accept more matters than they could manage.

The full Opinion is available at: http://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=61395.

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1082 (Jan. 2016)

Providing Legal Services to Clients of a Non-Legal Entity

Opinion 1082 addresses whether a lawyer employed by a finance company may provide legal services to the company's clients or whether the lawyer may assist the company's clients with pro se filings. The Opinion concludes that the lawyer may not provide legal services to the company's clients because doing so would violate Rule 5.5(b), which prohibits a lawyer from aiding a non-lawyer in the unauthorized practice of law. The Opinion notes that any compensation arrangement would also likely violate Rule 5.4(a)'s prohibition on sharing legal fees with non-lawyers. The Opinion also concludes that the lawyer may not help the company's client's "ghostwrite" pleadings for the same reasons. The Opinion reasons "it would make no difference whether the lawyer's name appeared on the documents. The problem would be that the Company is engaging in the unauthorized practice of law. Omitting the lawyer's name from any documents would not cure the problem." The Opinion also notes that the lawyer's failure to disclose his participation may also violate Rule 8.4(c), which requires a lawyer to refrain from behavior involving dishonesty, deceit or misrepresentation. Readers should also take note of N.Y. County Lawyers' Assn. Op. 742 (Apr. 16, 2010) (not cited in Opinion 1082), which concludes that it is generally permissible for a lawyer to ghostwrite pleadings for a pro se client without disclosing the fact of the lawyer's participation, unless disclosure is necessary by law or court rule.

The full Opinion is available at: http://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=61396.

Originally published by the New York Legal Ethics Reporter

www.fkks.com

This alert provides general coverage of its subject area. We provide it with the understanding that Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz is not engaged herein in rendering legal advice, and shall not be liable for any damages resulting from any error, inaccuracy, or omission. Our attorneys practice law only in jurisdictions in which they are properly authorized to do so. We do not seek to represent clients in other jurisdictions.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Tyler Maulsby
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.