United States: Willful Infringement, Opinion Letters, & Post-Halo Trends

Last Updated: October 10 2017
Article by John D. Wooten

Background

This short article aims to review recent trends in findings of willful patent infringement and enhanced damages, both in volume of motions made and the success rate of those motions. However, to appreciate current trends since the Supreme Court handed down Halo Electronics, Inc. v. Pulse Electronics, Inc.,1 a brief historical review is helpful. This brief overview does not replace a thorough study of historical cases on willful patent infringement, but I will leave such an undertaking to academia. For practitioners and industry leaders concerned with the current state of the law and trends in motion practice, what follows should suffice as a refresher.

In 1983, the Federal Circuit decided Underwater Devices Inc. v. Morrison-Knudsen Co.,2 which essentially placed an affirmative duty on a defendant to secure noninfringement and/or invalidity opinions of counsel to avoid a finding of willful infringement and enhanced damages. After nearly a quarter century of that standard, the Federal Circuit swung quite the opposite direction in In re Seagate Technology, LLC,3 wherein the court adopted an "objective recklessness" standard that made willful infringement almost impossible to prove. Essentially, if a defendant could argue any plausible explanation for a belief of noninfringement or invalidity of a patent, even years after the alleged infringement occurred, claims for willfulness and enhanced damages were almost certainly defeated.

Last year, the Supreme Court took a step back towards the world of Underwater Devices in its Halo decision, although far from a complete return, by adopting a "subjective recklessness" standard, concentrating on the infringer's knowledge and beliefs as to infringement and validity at the time of the infringement. While this swing has not restored an affirmative duty on defendants to seek patent opinion letters to avoid findings of willfulness, it certainly increases the relevance of such opinion letters in showing a defendant's state of mind at the time of the alleged infringement. Recent district court opinions confirm as much, and as might be expected, the success rate for claims of willfulness and enhanced damages is on the rise.

Recent Holdings Post-Halo

In one of the first district court cases to apply Halo, the Eastern District of Pennsylvania was confronted with a defendant who obtained a noninfringement opinion sometime around the final day of a 12 to 18 month project.4 The court ruled that opinion letters obtained so long after infringement began, even if still during the period of infringement, did not absolve the defendant of willful infringement under a subjective recklessness standard.

Shortly thereafter, the District of Delaware was confronted with a case in which the defendant obtained a noninfringement and invalidity opinion well before litigation, and the defendant even modified designs of the products at issue to conform to recommendations contained therein.5 Ultimately, the court found the patent was valid, and even with the design modifications the products infringed the valid patent, but the defendant's conduct could not be considered willful given the opinions of noninfringement and invalidity established before the infringing conduct even began. The court was careful to note that even though the opinions of invalidity and noninfringement were wrong, they were timely obtained and reasonably relied upon by the defendant, giving a complete defense to a finding of willfulness.

District courts in New York and Florida have also been confronted with applying the new subjective recklessness standard and have considered the absence of opinions letters in determining both willfulness and the amount of enhanced damages. After a finding of willfulness by the jury, the District of New York considered to the absence of a formal opinion letter in enhancing the damages award.6 Similarly, the District of Florida ruled that the absence of a formal opinion letter persuasively demonstrated that the defendant had no knowledge of its invalidity defense at the time of infringement, and when viewed in combination with other surrounding factors, the infringement was willful.7

Trends in Willfulness and Enhanced Damages

The trends in findings of willfulness and the granting of enhanced damages post-Halo show both an increased volume and rate of success consistent with what a practitioner might intuitively expect – the more stringent standard of subjective recklessness has resulted in a recent rise in the success rate of motions for willfulness and motions for both willfulness and enhanced damages. Interestingly, there was a dip in such findings of willfulness and awards of enhanced damages in the second half of 2016 after Halo, but this short period could have simply been a period in which the courts were reconsidering how to apply Halo. This is an especially plausible explanation given the often slow pace of patent litigation and the deliberate nature of judicial rulings in light of new guidance from the Supreme Court.

Success Rate of Motion by Year8

Based solely on the success rate, it is also interesting that such rates initially appear higher just prior to Halo. However, when viewed in light of the total number of motions made to the courts, a likely explanation quickly emerges. In 2015, only 6 motions for willfulness were considered, and only 2 motions for both willfulness and enhanced damages were considered. As of July 31, 2017, it is estimated those numbers will be 41 and 11 for the calendar year 2017, respectively. The second half of 2016 alone saw five times as many motions for willfulness as the first half of the year. This dramatic rise in motions considered by the courts likely reflects emboldened plaintiffs hoping to test the bounds of the new standard under Halo. As such, there were likely many motions which were no more than "test cases" to see just how much higher the expectations were for defendants under the subjective recklessness standard.

Conclusions

The trends in both total number of motions for willfulness and enhanced damages considered by the courts, coupled with the clear rise in success rates of those motions over the last year, suggest that issues of infringement and invalidity deserve careful consideration by would-be infringers. The Courts have not returned to requiring noninfringement and invalidity opinions of counsel to defeat a claim of willfulness, but such opinions certainly do not hurt. On the other hand, a defendant which finds itself facing willful infringement allegations without an opinion letter of counsel already on hand need not necessarily fret, assuming the existence of other circumstances showing that the infringement was not, in fact, willful. While opinion letters are a useful tool to defend against willfulness, they are only a part of the evidence a jury will consider to determine the state of mind at the time infringement began. Given the rise in motions for willfulness and enhanced damages, it would be logical to assume the patent world will see a corresponding rise in infringement and invalidity opinions as well, but many infringers may still overcome charges of willfulness even in the absence of opinions letters by relying upon other convincing evidence to prove they did not in fact mean to infringe.

Footnotes

[1] 136 S. Ct. 1923 (2016).

[2] 717 F.2d 1380 (1983).

[3] 497 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2007).

[4] Dominion Res. Inc. v. Alstom Grid Inc., No. CV 15-224, 2016 WL 5674713 (E.D. Pa. Oct. 3, 2016) (holding that the defendant's state of mind on the final day of 12-18 month project was far too late to be defense to willfulness) (appeal pending).

[5] Greatbatch Ltd. v. AVX Corp., No. CV 13-723-LPS, 2016 WL 7217625, at *1 (D. Del. Dec. 13, 2016) (declining to vacate prior order for summary judgment of no willfulness even in light of higher standard under Halo).

[6] PPC Broadband Inc. v. Corning Optical Commc'ns RF, LLC, 6-13-cv-01950, No. 511CV761GLSDEP, 2016 WL 6537977, at *1 (N.D.N.Y. Nov. 3, 2016) (The lack of formal opinion letter was considered by Court after a willfulness finding to enhance damages), appeal dismissed sub nom. PPC Broadband, Inc. v. Corning Optical Commc'ns (Dec. 12, 2016).

[7] Omega Patents, LLC v. Calamp Corp., 6:13-cv-01950 (M.D. Fla. April 5, 2017) (order granting enhanced damages) ("[Halo] has eliminated the ability of an accused infringer to posit reasonable invalidity defenses which were not relied upon at the time the accused products were introduced into the market.").

[8] Halo was decided on June 13, 2016. Data obtained from Docket Navigator on July 31, 2017.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.